Subscribe Now
Trending News


Cut Resilient Gloves 101:  A Quick Guide

Cut Resilient Gloves 101: A Quick Guide 

Levels are a useful approach to classify the hardness of the fabric and its capacity to survive contact with chemicals, blades, or heat when it pertains to cut-resistant gloves. OHS specialists are looking for hand safety gloves that provide adequate protection while also allowing for fine motor control. Finding the proper glove for each application is a delicate balancing act.

What Are the Different Levels of Cut-Resistant Gloves?

Several organizations have created quality standards for glove safety in order to provide a common vocabulary. The European Commission, typically abbreviated as CE (Conformité Européene), is the major regulatory organization in Europe. 

In North America, the American National Standards Institute, or ANSI, serves the similar purpose. ANSI is a corporate, non-profit organization that represents technical and government institutions. It was created in 1918. Although the ANSI and CE standards are comparable, this article focuses on the ANSI standard.

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration in the United States demands hand protection but it does not prescribe exact cut resistance limits, leaving it up to safety managers to decide. This is where ANSI distinctions come in handy. 

Glove protection limits were first defined by ANSI in 1999, and have since been amended in 2005, 2011, and 2016. These updates reflect advancements in the production of safeguarding materials as well as changes to the grading system that aids OHS professionals in locating appropriate safety clothing.

What’s New in the ANSI Cut-Resistant Glove Levels for 2016?

ANSI used to grade cut resistant gloves into 5 different cutting resistance ratings. In 2016, the scale was updated to allow for more distinctions. Prior to 2016, ANSI cut levels enabled testing on two separate machines: the TDM-100 and the CPPT. 

The new standard eliminates this possible cause of misunderstanding by requiring cut resistance levels to be measured using the TDM-100 machine, which determines how much load (in grams) a glove can take before being pierced by a new blade.

The revised ANSI scale is as such, with an ‘A’ at the front of the grade numbers:

A1Protective gloves, Level 1resists 200 g to 499 g of cutting force
A2Protective gloves, Level 2resists 500 g to 999 g of cutting force
A3Protective gloves, Level 3resists 1000 g to 1499 g of cutting force
A4Protective gloves, Level 4resists 1500 g to 2199 g of cutting force
A5Protective gloves, Level 5resists 2200 g to 2999 g of cutting force
A6Protective gloves, Level 6resists 3000 g to 3999 g of cutting force
A7Protective gloves, Level 7resists 4000 g to 4999 g of cutting force
A8Protective gloves, Level 8resists 5000 g to 5999 g of cutting force
A9Protective gloves, Level 9resists 6000 g or more of cutting force

Making Informed Decisions About Hand Safety

We don’t give particular cut-level suggestions, but our testing shows that tasks that require A5 gloves while using metal knives may well be contenders for A2, A3, or A4 gloves when employing ceramic safety knives. Before changing their existing glove policy, we urge that firms conduct their own field trials.

Also Read: Tips For Buying Clothes Online.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *